Recipes · Sides

Homemade BBQ Sauce

I never really thought about making my own BBQ sauce until a few years back I found Michael Chiarello’s recipe for baby back ribs with his own espresso BBQ sauce.  The first time I tried them I used his recipe exactly and was blown away by how much better the sauce was than any store bought I had ever tried.  As I got used to the concept and the general ingredients I created my own.  I don’t measure exactly so it comes out slightly different each time but always delicious!  It’s easy, quick and doesn’t have all of the preservatives and other chemicals some of the store bought brands have.  Give it a shot then play with it to make it into your favorite sauce!  You won’t regret it (well, unless you don’t like BBQ sauce, and in that case why are you reading this recipe, silly?  Go find something you do like!).

Homemade BBQ Sauce (makes about 1 1/2 cups but since I don’t exactly measure it could be more or less)

  • 1 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 1 cup ketchup
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp sweet hot mustard (I used Trader Joe’s)
  • 1/4 cup molasses or honey (totally different but either one works)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed
  • couple dashes of Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • crushed red pepper to taste if you like it hot!
  • olive oil

Heat olive oil over medium heat and saute garlic about 30 seconds or until fragrant.  Add all other ingredients and simmer about 15 minutes, stirring, to allow the flavors to meld.

Cool and enjoy!

Talk to me!