Menus · Misc. · Recipes

I Was the Queen of…

…leftovers this week (I know, you were hoping for something more interesting but that’s all I’ve got for you!  Unless you want to include Sea Monkeys, laundry and present wrapping).  I had to mix things up a bit because we found out my husband was traveling so I ended up changing the menu to work better with the schedule.

I did make the chicken pot stickers as promised but they were just OK so I didn’t post the recipe yet.  The flavors were awesome but this time I used 1/2 lb ground chicken breast instead of higher fat ground pork and they definitely needed the fat.  I will make them again with ground pork and share the recipe!  I used this Golden Tiger Pot Sticker Dipping Sauce and it’s awesome!  I add a tiny bit of sesame oil for added flavor.

I used the other 1/2 lb of ground chicken to make the kids some chicken meatballs with ricotta (inspired by this recipe from The Food Network), which were devoured happily for two nights in a row, so it was a partial win!

I was slated to make the Pastitsio last night but that’s basically beef with pasta and a bechamel/tomato sauce and I felt bad giving the kids virtually the same meal for 4 straight nights so I grabbed a rotisserie chicken, whipped up some homemade stock and then a pot of chicken soup.  The kids weren’t fans of the rotisserie chicken but they did eat a heaping pile of peas each so I am not complaining!

I am hoping to get my stuff back together this week and make some awesome new meals to post!  It’s my son’s birthday tomorrow, so McDonald’s was the winner but the rest of next week looks like this:

* Pastitsio (makes several meals worth and can be frozen)

* Grilled Chicken and a Quinoa/Veggie Salad

* Garlic Shrimp with Crusty Bread and Some Vegetable I Haven’t Thought of Yet

* Stuffed Pizza

* Bulgogi (Korean Barbecued Beef) w/ Broccoli over Brown Rice (suggested by a friend in response to my recipe challenge.  Thanks, T!)

* Thai Chopped Salad with Satay Chicken and Peanut Dressing (I told you I would take a better picture!)

* Maple Salmon (husband) & Tilapia (kids) & Salad (me no likey fishy)

I also made Lemon Bars yesterday and will make fudge and fudge balls this weekend so be on the lookout for those recipes coming soon!

As always, I would love suggestions and comments.

Have a great weekend!

Talk to me!