Fitness · Ramblings

I’m Not Dead!

Or maybe I am dead and I just don’t realize it.  Maybe I am a zombie writing this right now.  One can be anything on the internet, right?

I just wanted to tell everyone that I finished my first 10K trail race this morning!  I ran the Explore Your Limits race, which is put on by Mountain Junkies at Explore Park off the Blue Ridge Parkway in VA.  This was my first official trail race and I was very nervous about the 780 feet of elevation gain and something the pros like to call “Vomit Hill” at the end of the course.

My fate wasn’t looking good as I woke up this morning feeling like crap, coughing and aching all over.  It was about 35 degrees outside and I was thinking about bailing but I went for it anyway.  I am proud to say that I finished in about 1hr 15 min and I wasn’t vomiting or crawling (limping a little though).  I am waiting for the official time to be posted but I am pretty sure I wasn’t last so that’s an added bonus!  I know I said I just wanted to finish, but now that I finished I want to beat someone.  It’s in my blood and I can’t help it.

I am off to ice my knee, heat my back and make a huge vat of pasta with homemade tomato sauce and ground beef smothered in Mozzarella cheese for dinner.  Or maybe it’s not really ground beef… brains?

UPDATE!  The official results were posted and I placed 207 out of 224.  Hell, it’s better than nothing, right!  I am still proud that I got out and did it!  Congrats to all of the RVTRs and Mountain Junkies who did an awesome job today!

4 thoughts on “I’m Not Dead!

    1. I only beat out 17 people but hey, it’s better than nothing!! Now I have a goal for next year. 🙂

  1. Great job Jamie! It’s a real boost to your ego when you can accomplish something outside of your comfort zone. Hope you are feeling better.

    1. Thanks! Unfortunately, I am feeling horrible but we are heading to FL Wed so hopefully some Disney and sunshine will help!

Talk to me!