Misc. · The Bakery

Time For An Intervention

Recently a friend of mine discovered that she has a gluten allergy.  It’s not uncommon, but it was a shock to her because gluten was only one out of forty-something foods to which she is apparently allergic.  That’s right, FORTY.  Poor thing had to basically cut out everything and lived on water for a month.  OK, not really but it was close.  So my friend’s situation got me thinking about my own gluten consumption.  This was purely out of curiosity because I do not have an allergy or even an intolerance.  I can gleefully shovel bagels in my face with no apparent ill effects.  I know there are people out there who think everyone is intolerant of gluten and that it causes inflammation and chicken pox and polio and blah blah but I really don’t want to hear about that.  I have already banned a bazillion foods from my “list” and wheat and I go WAY back and I am not bailing on it now.  Furthermore, we all know that stress makes us crave carbs and I think, considering our current situation, that I have plenty of stress to go around and obviously my body needs bread to survive, right?  You with me on this one??

Anyway, I decided to check out our freezer to see just how much bread we eat.  My freezer looks like this:

image from wisegeek

Just kidding.  I don’t have any of that funky braided bread.  Really it looks like this:

Shelf 1: Fillo dough, mini cinnamon raisin bagels, waffles, Ciabatta bread, whole wheat apple muffins, whole wheat apple cinnamon pancakes.

Shelf 2: Whole wheat English muffins, whole wheat hamburger buns, whole wheat sandwich bread.

Shelf 3: Multi grain sandwich bread, cooked croissants, soft pretzels.

Shelf 4: Trader Joe’s potato latkes, uncooked croissants, mini cheese ravioli.

Holy carbfest!!!  Seriously, we have enough carbohydrates in our freezer alone to feed a small village (of ducks and fish).  And it doesn’t end there!  If you think that is a lot, you should see my pantry!  Is there a Hoarders for people who hoard complex and simple carbohydrates?  It doesn’t look like we are on the road to recovery any time soon because as am typing this my husband is walking out the door to go get fresh bagels (the grown up version).

I do think maybe it’s time to cut some of the bread out of our diet.  I said SOME.  Let’s not get crazy here.  Maybe I will start tomorrow after I make my bagel sandwich…

What is your favorite food indulgence?

2 thoughts on “Time For An Intervention

  1. Ben & Jerry’s ice cream. Any flavor. I hide the pints in the freezer, behind the package of petite peas. Those peas have been frozen for three years. Nobody looks behind them…

Talk to me!